This moment in time…

A journal of our travels and how we arrived at this moment in time!

Cold, cold, and more cold…

Leave a comment

Summerdale, AL

Since we left Texas and have been here in Alabama, we have only had a few really pretty days. For the most part, it has been cold and rainy… and windy! Since our friends, Debbie and Steve, left to head west, there really hasn’t been a whole lot to do. Other RVers here around the campground have commented about there not being much to do, so it’s not just our imagination. There is Walmart, though! We have been out and about to run errands, but not many touristy things.

A couple of weeks ago, we did visit the Naval Aviation Museum in Pensacola, FL. It is about an hour drive from here, so not bad. Craig has been wanting to return since our initial visit about 20 years ago. So we did. It has really grown since then and it made for a nice outing. While there, we saw 3 IMAX movies: D-Day: Normandy 1944; Magic of Flight; and, Rocky Mountain Express. We really enjoyed those. The museum also offered trolley tours of the “back 40” that housed all kinds of aircraft with tons of history. Craig has been chomping at the bit to see what was back there and the tour is driven and narrated by retired military volunteers who have lived the history! HOWEVER, we really didn’t catch much of what was being said because there was a very unruly and, at times, screaming brat on our tour! This kid was either making noise, talking loudly, crying, or throwing a fit the ENTIRE TIME! I was fit to be tied, and so was everyone else. People come from all over the world to see and hear about the history of these aircraft, so having a rotten-to-the-core kid onboard was pure selfishness on the part of his parents. Why would a parent participate in anything if their kid is so out of control? The kid had exhibited unruly behavior long before we even got on the trolley… and never stopped! So why, dad, did you wake up that day wondering how you could ruin everyone else’s day by taking your bratty kid along? Oh, I have an answer! It’s all about YOU! I have just one question to ask that so-called parent… What in this entire universe did you think your bratty 3 year old kid would learn about aviation history? I have your answer!  Not a damn thing… and neither did anyone else… thanks to you and your offspring. Next time, do the world a favor and just STAY HOME!

By the time the tour came to an end, people were fit to be tied and shaking their heads. So many people were visibly upset to the point I was wondering if a free-for-all was going to break out! One lady commented, “Now, THAT was a waste of an hour!” I had to agree, and so did many others. And I felt sorry for the folks from Brazil who were on the tour. Afterward, I went inside to fill out a complaint card, suggesting that children under a certain age NOT be allowed onboard the trolley. It serves no purpose except to ruin an otherwise interesting tour for everyone else onboard when a child lacks discipline.  I should have listened to my gut before we left and stepped off the trolley when I was seriously contemplating it.  Next time, I will.  For now, I will step off my soapbox.

A week later, it was Craig’s big 60th birthday! To celebrate, we spent the day out together and, luckily, it was one of the prettiest days we have had here. We ended up at Shrimp Basket in Gulf Shores where we sat outside on the heated patio. We started off with a dozen raw oysters, and then on to the main entrees. Craig had a seafood basket and I had fried clams. Back in high school, Howard Johnson’s had all-you-can-eat Fried Clam Fridays and so before or after football games we would go there to eat. I really have not had many clams since then, but the clams at Shrimp Basket did not disappoint. I really enjoyed the meal (what little I could eat) but, mostly, celebrating another birthday with my sweetheart. We had a GREAT day together!

As of late, we have been busy getting our chores done before we hit the road next Tuesday. Craig has been tweaking and maintaining things around the house, we have washed the truck inside and out, AND he installed some Bose speakers in the basement for me so that when we are outside we can listen to music. He hooked the speaker system up so that I can either listen to my DISH music, or I can plug in my phone or i-Pod. The speakers sound AWESOME, and I am so happy. I just love my music! Tomorrow is going to be the “warmest” (56 F.) and prettiest day before we leave, so our plans are to wash the house. Have you ever washed your house?

Well, that is all the excitement we can stand for now! Thank you for hanging out with us and we will report back as soon as we get back on the road and life continues.

Until then… enjoy the view!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

